The crime of burglary is different from state to state. In Michigan, the statutes refer to most burglary charges under their breaking and entering laws. These laws outline several different offenses, each of which carrying a harsh potential penalty. If you are accused of any one of these crime, you face serious consequences.
The charges you face depend not only on what allegedly happened at the time of the offense, but on the evidence that the prosecution has against you. This page is designed to be a reference guide. Discussing your case with a local attorney will help you get specifics about the charges you face and the potential penalties they carry.
Michigan Breaking and Entering Laws & Penalties
If you commit the offense of breaking and entering on a structure or building other than a dwelling/home, you could face this charge. This is a felony offense and carries up to 10 years in prison if convicted.
Home Invasion in the First Degree
First degree home invasion applies to cases where you are accused of breaking and entering a dwelling with the intent to commit a felony, larceny, or assault while inside, and you are armed or someone is present in the dwelling at the time.
Upon conviction, you can be sentenced to up to 20 years and $5,000 in fines for this offense.
Home Invasion in the Second Degree
You could be facing this charge if you are accused of breaking and entering a dwelling without permission with the intent to commit a felony, larceny, or assault while within. Even if you aren’t successful in your endeavor, the intent is enough to gain a conviction.
A conviction of this crime carries a potential 15 years in prison and $3,000 in fines.
Home Invasion in the Third Degree
Home invasion in the third degree applies to cases in which you are accused of breaking and entering a dwelling without permission with the intent to commit a misdemeanor or if while you are inside you break the terms of your probation, parole, pre-trial release, or protection order.
This offense is a felony and carries up to 5 years in prison and $2,000 in fines.
Possession of Burglar’s Tools – Laws & Penalties
Burglar’s tools are those that can be used to help you gain access to a secure location. Items to help break locks are an example. If you are caught in possession of burglar’s tools and it can be proven that you had the intention to use them for this purpose, you could be charged with this felony offense.
Possession of burglar’s tools carries a potential sentence of up to 10 years in prison.
When you are accused of any breaking and entering or burglary charge, you need someone on your side working towards the positive resolution of your case. Contact a local criminal defense attorney today that can help.